UP Polls: 60.37 per cent voter turnout recorded in the 4th phase

UP Polls: 60.37 per cent voter turnout recorded in the 4th phase
UP Polls 2017: Voting starts in Alapur constituency of Ambedkar Nagar

Lucknow: Voter turnout remained at 60.37 per cent (average) in the fourth phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections which concluded at 1700 hours on Thursday.

Average polling percentage in the districts: Pratapgarh (54.73%), Kaushambi (54.83%), Allahabad (54.48%), Jalaun (57.67%), Jhansi (65.60%), Lalitpur (71.44%), Mahoba (64.95%), Hamirpur (61.50%), Banda (59.22%), Chitrakoot (60.39%), Fatehpur (59.24%) and Rae Bareli (60.33%).

The minimum polling percentage was recorded at Pratapgarh (54.48 per cent), while Lalitpur recorded the maximum at 71.44 per cent.

A total of 1.84 crore electorate may exercise their franchise to decide the fate of 680 candidates, including 61 women, contesting in the fourth phase of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections to be held on Thursday.

Out of the 1.84 crore voters, 1 crore are men, 84 lakh are women and the third gender includes 1034 electorate.

The polling will take place in 53 constituencies, spread across 12 districts. The constituency with most candidates is Allahabad North (26) and the constituencies with the least number of nominees are Khaga and Kunda (six each).

Prominent personalities include Utkarsha Mishra, son of former opposition leader Swamy Prasad Maurya, independent Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiyya, Aradhna Mishra, daughter of Rajya Sabha member Pramod Tiwari and Ujjwal Raman Singh, son of Samajwadi Party leader Reoti Raman Singh.

Highlights of fourth phase voting:

- More than one woman is contesting in 17 constituencies for the fourth phase election.

- Lalitpur has the largest electorate (453,162) and Ayahshah the least (260,439).

- A total of 19,487 polling stations have been set up in this phase.

- BJP has fielded most number of candidates with criminal background (19), followed by SP (13), BSP (12), RLD (9) and INC (8).

- Out of a total of 200 Independent candidates, 24 have declared criminal cases against themselves.


UP Polls Phase 4: BJP fields 19 candidates with crime records; SP, Cong follow