Kashmir remained on the edge as authorities stepped up security at vital installations and in sensitive areas, suspended mobile Internet services and either "arrested" or "detained" several leaders in fast-paced developments on Sunday night.

While Congress leader Janardan Dwivedi said a "historical mistake" has been corrected by the government, his party colleague Deepender Hooda contended that the abrogation of Article 370 "is in the interest of national integrity".

Laddak has now been declared an Union territory. Making 28 states and 8 Union territories in India. The list of Union Territories is now up by one more state, making the list with Puducherry, Chandigarh, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Delhi, Ladakh, and Jammu-Kashmir Union Territory (with legislature).

It also said the National Conference's claim that it will form the government on its own in the state after the assembly elections is "hollow".

Till now, the administrative affairs of Ladakh were being looked after by divisional administration of the Kashmir Valley. The people of Ladakh, however, for long had been demanding the creation of a separate administrative or revenue division. 

At minus 21.1 degree Celsius, Drass recorded the night's lowest temperature, and the town was coldest in Jammu and Kashmir on Saturday.