Sources close to him said Soren has already spoken to Gandhi and wanted to invite her to the ceremony personally.

Former Jharkhand minister Saryu Roy has become the second politician in the state to defeat an incumbent chief minister, after Gopal Krishna Patar who beat the then chief minister Shibu Soren in 2009.

The mandate in Jharkhand, where the JMM-Congress alliance has scored an emphatic victory in the just-concluded Assembly polls, underlines a new pattern which will help reduce the BJP's saffron footprint across the country, NCP chief Sharad Pawar said on Tuesday.

The Shiv Sena also hit out at the BJP, with which it recently severed ties at the Centre and in Maharashtra, saying the Jharkhand Assembly poll trends show people are not buying the Amit Shah-led party's politics based on sentimental issues like the National Register of Citizens.

The results of the 2019 Jharkhand assembly elections will be announced today to determine the fate of the Raghubar Das-led Bharatiya Janata Party government in the state. Counting is being held in 81 constituencies of Jharkhand that voted over five phases in December.

Counting of votes for 81 Assembly constituencies in Jharkhand began at 8 am on Monday, Election Commission officials said.

Additional Sessions Judge Om Prakash convicted 27- year-old Rajwar Sao of Tajwar Tola area under section 307 (attempt to murder) and 325 (voluntarily causing grievous hurt) of the Indian Penal Code, public prosecutor R B Rai said.

Only a day after making an infuriating statement that he and others guess the identity of protestors opposing the Citizenship Amendment Act just by the clothes they wear, Prime minister Narendra Modi finally tweeted on Monday that he is distressed at the violent protests ‘on CAA’ which he added are unfortunate.