2019 Lok Sabha elections

In his first interview after the election results, Babbar said Gandhi considered Amethi not just as his parliamentary constituency, but his family.

Delhi Congress leader Vijay Jatan and some workers, who sat on a hunger strike outside Gandhi's Tughlaq Lane residence, said their demand was that the latter should take his resignation back because the party needed his leadership.

Ending days of speculations over his role in the new government owing to his ill health, he posted on Twitter the letter he wrote to Modi requesting recusal from being a part of the new government on health grounds.

He also hit out at the anti-BJP gathbandhan of SP, BSP and RLD, terming the SP as 'Samaapt Party', the BSP as 'Bilkul Samaapt Party' and the RLD as 'Roj Ludhaktaa Dal'.

Patnaik sworn-in as Chief Minister for the fifth time. So far only two: Jyoti Basu of West Bengal and Pawan Chamling of Sikkim have been CM for five terms.

Party offices in Bankura, Purulia, Coochbihar, Bardhaman, Hoogly, North 24 Parganas and Howrah among others have now not only been taken over by the CPI(M) cadres, but the party symbol is being painted on them and party flags are now flying proudly atop the buildings.

The BJP-led NDA has received a landslide mandate in the just-concluded Lok Sabha elections with the saffron party winning 303 of the 542 seats that went to polls this time. Narendra Modi is set to assume the charge as prime minister for a second time on Thursday.

Addressing  a gathering here, PM Modi said, "We had gone to people seeking mandate to build a new India. People have given us their blessings for it. People have vindicated my view that this election was fought by them and not by parties."