INDvsENG T20I Series: Ashwin, Jadeja replaced with Mishra, Rasool

INDvsENG T20I Series: Ashwin, Jadeja replaced with Mishra, Rasool

INDvsENG T20I Series: Ashwin, Jadeja replaced with Mishra, Rasool

New Delhi: The match-winning spin duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja has been rested for the upcoming three-match Twenty20 International series against England.

It may be mentioned that the two spinner played a vital role in India’s 4-0 (in Tests) and 2-1 (in ODIs) series wins against England. Where Ashwin grabbed 28 wickets, Jadeja took 26 in the five-match Test series. Ashwin and Jadeja also scored 306 runs and 224 runs, respectively, in seven innings each.

Jadeja and Ashwin also contributed on crucial occasions in ODIs as they took 4 and 3 wickets in the three matches.

Also Read: Saina Nehwal wins Malaysia Masters Grand Prix Gold

The two biggies of the Indian squad have been replaced by leggie Amit Mishra and off-spinner Parvez Rasool.

“The All-India Senior Selection committee in consultation with Team India management has decided to rest spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja from the Paytm T20I series against England,” said the BCCI in an official statement.

The board added, “Amit Mishra and Parvez Rasool will be their replacement in the squad.”

India is scheduled to play three T20Is against England, beginning from January 26 in Kanpur, followed by two more matches in Nagpur on January 29 and in Bangalore on February 1.

Also Read: England wins third ODI by 5-runs; India seals series 2-1

Mishra last represented India in ODIs in October 2016, when playing against New Zealand, he bagged 5 wickets for 18 runs in the fifth and final ODI. He was chosen in 15-member squad for the three-match ODI series against England but wan not given a chance in the playing XI.

Rasool, who has played just one ODI back in 2014, may mark is T20I debut in the forthcoming series. His selection was made on the basis of his impressive performance in the Ranji Trophy.

Keep yourself updated with latest news through Newstrack App. To download App from Google Playstore visit here - Newstrack App