BCCI announces team India for ODI, T20I series against Sri Lanka

BCCI announces team India for ODI, T20I series against Sri Lanka
SC asks BCCI, affiliates for suggestions on draft constitution

Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday evening announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming One Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) series against Sri Lanka.

India's top spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have been rested for the limited-over series, while Shardul Thakur has been inducted in the 15-member team. Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav have also been given a chance in the shorter formats of the game.

It may be mentioned that Kuldeep has been impressive in the Test series against Sri Lanka, which India has already won with 2-0 lead. The visiting team is in the commanding position in the third and final Test of the series as well.

Surprisingly, veteran all-rounder Yuvraj Singh and flamboyant middle-order batsman Suresh Raina have been axed from the squad.

Experienced fast bowlers Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami have been rested, probably keeping in mind the option of an extra spinner in the spin-friendly Sri Lankan conditions.

Mumbai batsman Rohit Sharma has been surprisingly named the vice-captain, while opening batsman Lokesh Rahul returned after an injury lay-off. The Karnataka right-hander has been in good form in the ongoing three-match Test series against the Islanders.

Young Delhi wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant had to make way for Rahul.

India will play five ODIs and one T20I against Sri Lanka starting from August 20.

Also Read: Kuldeep’s four-fer folds SL for 135, India enforces follow on

Here is the 15-member squad:

Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Lokesh Rahul, Manish Pandey, Ajinkya Rahane, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shardul Thakur

Fixture of the ODI and T20I series:

First ODI – August 20

Second ODI – August 24

Third ODI – August 27

Fourth ODI – August 31

Fifth ODI – September 3

Only T20I – September 6