UP bypoll: 55 percent voting recorded in Kairana till 1700 hours

UP bypoll: 55 percent voting recorded in Kairana till 1700 hours

Shamli: 55 percent voting has been recorded till 1700 hours in Kairana parliamentary seat in Uttar Pradesh.

In Kairana, the main contest is between Mriganka Singh of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) candidate Tabassum Hasan.

Singh, daughter of the late BJP MP from Kairana, Hukum Singh is counting on the sympathy wave in the name of her father and the power of the Yogi Adityanath government to win the election, while Hasan is pinning her hopes on the opposition unity as the Samajwadi Party (SP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Nishad Party, Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) have extended their support to her.

ALSO READ: Uttar Pradesh By-elections: Polling today in high-stake constituencies

In all there are 16,09,628 voters in Kairana of which 8,73,120 men, 7,36,431 women and 77 of the third gender.

In Noorpur, BJP's Avni Singh is pitted against Naimul Hasan of the SP. There are 3,06,226 male voters, 1,41,924 women and 10 from the third gender.

In Noorpur, total 9 percent of voting was recorded till 0900 hours.

The Election Commission official said there are 2,056 polling booths and 1,094 polling centres.

To ensure free, fair and peaceful elections, the poll panel has deputed three general observers and two expenditure observers.

All the electronic voting machines (EVM's) being used in the two bypolls will have VVPAT machines to enable the voter to see for whom he or she has voted.

A total of 2,651 EVM control units, 2,651 ballot units and 2,596 VVPAT's are being used in the polling process.

Realising that the elections are crucial and high stake, the poll panel has deputed 53 companies of the para-military forces here and 10 companies of the provincial armed constabulary (PAC).