Members Cross-voted in legislative council election in UP

Members Cross-voted in legislative council election in UP

Lucknow: Some Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party members are believed to have voted in favour of the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), brightening the prospects of its candidates. The party needed 12 additional votes to ensure victory of two candidates it has fielded .

According to information available so far, two hours before the scheduled closure of voting at four p m, at least two members of the SP have cross-voted in support of the BJP. What is worse, one of them Vinod Kumar Singh, is member of the council of ministers. Not only has he voted he has made it known to waiting media persons.

Unlike the Rajya Sabha, a secret voting is done in the legislative council. As such, he could have kept it to himself but he has disclosed it may be because of his bad relationship with top bosses.

In addition, a BSP MLA is believed to have gone against the party interest and voted for the BJP.

Another highlight: Mukhtar Ansari who is a member of the assembly and lodged in Agra central jail could not vote as the court has disallowed his plea to come to Lucknow and participate in voting.

The result is to be announced this evening.