India posts 321-run win over New Zealand, clinches series 3-0


Indore: India completed a 3-0 clean sweep thumping New Zealand by 321 runs in the third Cricket Test of the three-match series at the Holkar Cricket stadium here on Tuesday. R.Ashwin was the wrecker-in-chief in the Kiwis second innings as well claiming 7 wickets wrapping the match with 13 for 140 runs.

Chasing a target of 475 ,Black Caps surrendered totally to Indian spinners Ashwin and left arm spinner Jadeja sharing 9 second innings wickets between them. Ashwin has been awarded Man of the Match as well as Man of the Series claiming a total of 27 wickets in three test matches.

Earlier resuming the seconds innings at 18 for no loss, India went on to extend its lead to 474 declaring the innings at 216 for 3 with a classy unbeaten ton of Cheteswar Pujara and a quickfire 50 by comeback man Gautam Gambhir. Pujara took 148 balls to complete his eighth hundred which was flavoured with nine fours. It was not a typical  Pujara innings as he went from 50 to 101 runs in just 49 deliveries.

Ajinkya Rahane had also remained unbeaten playing 20-ball-23-run while skipper Kohli got out at a score of 17 runs. He had scored a magnificent 188 in the first innings, also his 8th in 29 test matches. In fact, Ajinkya Rahane has over 50 test average after big hundred in the 1st innings.

New Zealand were not really in the match from the beginning and none of their batsmen could stand the onslaught of Indian spinning duo. Ross Taylor was the top scorer with 32 followed by first innings half centurian Guptill (29) and the skipper Williomson 27. India wrapped up the match on the fourth day itself inflicting a white wash against the visiting New Zealand.

Pujara, who was without century for last 10 matches, came out good and showed his attacking side of batsmanship when India needed quick runs to declare the innings.Virat set a record by becoming the first Indian captain to score two double hundreds.

India will be in upbeat mood when they face England at home in five-match series starting next month.

Brief Score:

India 1st innings 557/5 (declare); Virat Kohli 211, Ajinkya Rahane 188, Rohit Sharma 51; Boult 2/113, Jeetan 2/120
New Zealand 1st innings 299/10: Guptill 72, Neesham 71, Latham 53; Ashwin 6/81, Jadeja 2/80
India 2nd innings: 216/3 (declare); Pujara 101, Gambhir 50; Jeetan 2/56
New Zealand 2nd innings 153/10; Taylor 32, Guptill 25; Ashwin 7/59, Jadeja 2/45
India wins by 321 runs
Man of the Match  R Ashwin
Player of the Series R Ashwin

Also read:  Pujara is back to where he belongs, hits 8th ton

Also read:  Rahane’s purple patch continues, scores 8th test century

Keep yourself updated with latest news through Newstrack App. To download App from Google Playstore visit here - Newstrack App